18.54.020  <<  18.54.030 >>   18.54.040


*** CHANGE IN 2022 *** (SEE 5753-S.SL) ***
The initial composition of the optometry board includes the three members of the examining committee for optometry plus two more optometrists to be appointed by the governor.
The governor must make all appointments to the optometry board. Only optometrists who are citizens of the United States, residents of this state, having been licensed to practice and practicing optometry in this state for a period of at least four years immediately preceding the effective date of appointment, and who have no connection with any school or college embracing the teaching of optometry or with any optical supply business may be appointed.
The governor may set the terms of office of the initial board at his or her discretion, to establish the following perpetual succession: The terms of the initial board include one position for one year, two for two years, and two for three years; and upon the expiration of the terms of the initial board, all appointments are for three years.
In addition to the members specified in this section, the governor shall appoint a consumer member of the board, who shall serve for a term of three years.
In the event that a vacancy occurs on the board in the middle of an appointee's term, the governor must appoint a successor for the unexpired portion of the term only.


Severability1984 c 279: See RCW 18.130.901.
Site Contents
Selected content listed in alphabetical order under each group