S-0355.1				

SENATE BILL 5064

61st Legislature

2009 Regular Session

By Senators Jacobsen and Kline

State of Washington

Read first time 01/12/09. Referred to Committee on Natural Resources, Ocean & Recreation.

- AN ACT Relating to wildlife conservation in Washington's portion of the Yukon to Yellowstone Rocky mountain ecosystem; adding a new section
- the Yukon to Yellowstone Rocky mountain ecosystem; adding a new section
- 3 to chapter 77.12 RCW; and creating a new section.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 5 NEW SECTION. Sec. 1. The legislature finds that Washington state comprises a great diversity of biota and landscapes. Under widely 6 accepted scientific classifications, there are nine ecoregional areas lying wholly or partially in Washington: Northwest coast, Puget 8 trough, northwest Cascades, west Cascades, east Cascades, Okanogan 9 10 highlands, Blue mountains, Columbia plateau, and Canadian Rocky 11 mountains. The Canadian Rocky mountains ecoregional area is a vast region of the Rocky mountain chain stretching from the Yukon Territory 12 in Canada into the south central United States, encompassing all or 13 14 portions of three provinces and seven states. The Selkirk mountains in 15 the northeast portion of the state and the north-flowing Pend Oreille 16 river are the two dominant features of this ecoregion in Washington state, with the Selkirks providing a transition between the rolling 17 18 Okanogan highlands to the west and the higher Rocky mountain ridges and 19 mountains interlaced with wide valleys to the east.

p. 1 SB 5064

While the portion of this region lying within Washington state is 1 2 relatively small, it is an important component for conservation initiatives involving the unique biota of this ecoregion. Within the 3 4 Rocky mountains ecoregional area there are landowners, communities, wildlife management agencies, and wildlife conservation organizations 5 6 beginning to work together in a coordinated manner to consider this These groups seek to combine science and 7 region as a whole. 8 stewardship to ensure that the world-renowned wilderness, wildlife, 9 native plants, and natural processes of the region continue to function as an interconnected web of life, capable of supporting all of the 10 11 natural and human communities that reside within it, for now and for 12 future generations. This effort is commonly referred to as the Yukon 13 to Yellowstone conservation initiative.

Within the Yukon to Yellowstone ecoregion are hundreds of small communities, and two major metropolitan regions, Calgary and Spokane.

As the largest city within the Yukon to Yellowstone region in the United States, the city of Spokane should be recognized as the United States' capital of the Yukon to Yellowstone ecoregion.

19 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 2.** A new section is added to chapter 77.12 RCW 20 to read as follows:

The department shall participate with wildlife management agencies and conservation organizations in other states and provinces, comprising the Canadian Rocky mountains ecoregional area, in the cooperative programs of the Yukon to Yellowstone conservation initiative. Where the Yukon to Yellowstone conservation initiative has identified priority species, habitats, or landscapes lying within Washington state, the department shall actively seek to involve local governments, landowners, and local conservation organizations in the initiative. The department may integrate these activities with its cooperative work with other states and provinces sharing ecoregional areas with Washington state.

--- END ---

SB 5064 p. 2

21

22

23

2425

26

2728

29

30

31