36.32.010  <<  36.32.020 >>   36.32.030

RCW 36.32.020

Commissioner districts.

The board of county commissioners of each county shall divide their county into three commissioner districts so that each district shall comprise as nearly as possible one-third of the population of the county: PROVIDED, That the territory comprised in any voting precincts of such districts shall remain compact, and shall not be divided by the lines of said districts.
However, the commissioners of any county composed entirely of islands and with a population of less than thirty-five thousand may divide their county into three commissioner districts without regard to population, except that if any single island is included in more than one district, the districts on such island shall comprise, as nearly as possible, equal populations.
The lines of the districts shall not be changed oftener than once in four years and only when a full board of commissioners is present. The districts shall be designated as districts numbered one, two and three.
Effective date1982 c 226: See note following RCW 35.21.180.
Site Contents
Selected content listed in alphabetical order under each group